A racer is defined by a comback from their injury.

Posted: March 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

Its not how many champoinships you have, its how good you come back from an injur — Colton Sturm

Colton has been racing bikes ever since he was about five years old. After a few years of fast progression Colton decided he wanted to race something with a motor. Since his earliest rides he has progressed, but broken and bruised his body along the way. I’ve always said if your not crashing, your not riding hard enough.

With the number one plate this year, Strum’s season is starting off relatively slow, but he is determined to make the most of it. in an article I recently read he talks about his challenges and the facts about racing. He talks about the trust and friendship the riders have off and on the track. When its race time, we race but he believes trust is a huge part of the motorsport industry. Here’s a little interview that he recently participated in:

“This is going to be my first event since I’ve got the green light,” Colton Sturm said. “I’ve been riding and I’ve been pushing it and it’s yet to give me grief. We have great suspension and the ground is going to be so soft I have no worries that my leg is going to feel fine for the race.“

While injuries are often inevitable in high-speed racing, Sturm is confident in his abilities as a pro racer, and also in the abilities of other riders who will be in close quarters with him on the track.

“We’ll be jumping 100 feet through the air and things could go horribly wrong and it’s a huge trust issue,” said Sturm. “At this level all the riders know what every rider is going to do and can adjust for it. We’re very precise on everything.

“Once you turn pro there are a lot of expectations and you have to be fast, in control, and safe. But when I do go down it’s normally a good one. I bounce good.”

Despite all the thrills, and potential dangers, Sturm always manages to keep the atmosphere anything but serious.

“I don’t start getting serious until I see the flag,” he said. “I’m always playing and yelling jokes to the other guys on the line when we’re about to take off. You know when it’s pro time because I’ll be yelling. I make it fun on the line.

“If you’re not having fun you shouldn’t be doing it. It’s a competition of course but at the end of the day we’re all friends, and we all love the sport, and that keeps us going.”

He shows and tells us the friendship he has with the riders, the trust, and the fun they alll are licky enough to experience. For the rest of the article visit this link.

 

 

Leave a Reply

