What do you ride?

Posted: February 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

What do you ride? Or  better yet what do I ride. You can’t get a full grip on my blog without knowing what I ride and what other ride on. I own a 2012 Polaris Assault 800, along with a couple of my buddies. I have buddies that ride every brand from Arctic Cat, Polaris, SkiDoo, and Yamaha. All are good sleds, and you can’t go wrong with any one of them. My sled has a 155″ track, made primarily for backcountry off-the-trail riding. Snowmobiles range from 340cc to 1000cc engines. I chose the 800 for lightweight power.

People that ride backcountry and deep powder will want a track like mine, a longer track that allows you to move more snow. Trail riding is different. When on the trail its usually groomed like your average ski/snowboard run. A smaller track with the same size engine will let the trail riders go fast and in a straight line. This brand of riding is fun, but doesn’t compare to the sights and riding you encounter in the backcountry, where few people go.

I bought the long track Polaris Assault because i enjoy backcountry riding; weaving in and out of trees, side-hilling, cliff dropping, ect. My snowmobile allows me to do everything I need, and then some. If your just starting off a 600cc would be a good starting sled. As most people interested have, me included, ridden motorcycles it is almost the same and enables you to enjoy winter that much more!

Leave a Reply

